Driving you on the road to success
Driving you on the road to success

Grade A Instructor

What happens at the standards check


A Driving and Vehicle Standards Agency examiner will watch you give a normal driving lesson to your pupil.


The examiner will look for evidence that you meet the National standards for driver and rider training.


What you’ll be marked on


You’ll be marked on 17 areas of competence that are grouped into 3 categories:

  • lesson planning
  • risk management
  • teaching and learning skills

The 17 areas of competence are listed in the ADI standards check form, which the examiner will fill in during your check.


You’ll get a score from 0 to 3 for each of the 17 competencies, which are added up to work out your grade.

The ADI Code of Practice


This code of practice has been agreed between DVSA and the bodies representing ADIs listed at the end of this document. It is a framework within which all instructors should operate.


The National Driver and Rider Training Standard

The standard is for people who provide training to drivers of cars, light vans, and mopeds and motorcycles. It tells you what you must be able to do to provide training. It describes the skills, knowledge and understanding needed to be a safe and responsible driving or riding instructor.

National Standard for Driving Cars (Category B)

The standard is for car and light van drivers and tells you what you must be able to do to be a safe and responsible driver.


Home:  01919069683

Mobile: 07506541657

Email: info@clutchupndrive.com

Click here to book now !!

Print Print | Sitemap
© clutchupndrive